CHINAKNOWLEDGE - a universal guide for China studies | HOME | About
Encoding: Unicode (UTF-8) [Location: HOME > History > Three Kingdoms > Wu]

Chinese History - Wu Dynasty 吳 (222-280)

The Wu dynasty 吳 (222-280) ruled over one of the Three Kingdoms 三國 (220~280). It was founded by Sun Quan 孫權 (the "Great Emperor" 吳大帝, r. 222-252). The dynasty is also called Sun-Wu 孫吳 in order to avoid confusion with the Zhou period 周 (11th. cent.-221 BC) feudal state of Wu 吳 or the small empire of Wu 吳 (902-937), one of the Ten Kingdoms 十國 (902-979).

Source: 楊德炳 (1992). "", in: Zhongguo da baike quanshu 中國大百科全書, Zhongguo lishi 中國歷史, vol. 2, pp. XXX. Beijing/Shanghai: Zhongguo da baike quanshu chubanshe.

Map and Geography

Event History

Emperors and Rulers

Government and Administration

Literature and Philosophy


Technology and Inventions



October 31, 2011 © Ulrich Theobald · Mail